Bonnie 'Prince' Billy & Matt Sweeney#20

Portrait von Bonnie 'Prince' Billy & Matt Sweeney
  1. Lil Nathan and the Zydeco Big Timers – Cuddle Up
  2. Mickey Newbury – She Even Woke Me Up to Say Goodbye (Live)
  3. Cat Stevens – On the Road to Find Out
  4. Raffi – Thanks a Lot
  5. Krishna Das – Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya
  6. UGK – One Day
  7. Gichy Dan’s Beachwood # 9 – Cowboys & Gangsters
  8. Novak’s Kapelle – Animal Love
  9. Songhoy Blues – Assadja
  10. Viagra Boys – 6 Shooter

“The chemistry comes from lives, lived separately, in which music is crucial sustenance”, said songwriter Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy in a statement about his creative relationship with Matt Sweeney. They released their first collaborative effort Superwolf in 2005 and are now following it up with Superwolves in 2021. Separate lives lead to separate sides of a mixtape. You might not suspect it from these very different mixtape sides, but when Bonnie and Sweeney sing together they harmonize intimately. (Tracks 1-5 were selected by Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy; Tracks 6-10 were selected by Matt Sweeney.)

– Maik Brüggemeyer